;

Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus More


Barbra Streisand: on the Couch by Alma H. BondBarbra Streisand: on the Couch by Alma H. Bond, Ph.D.


Publisher: Bancroft Press (Oct 1, 2017)
Category: Literary Fiction, Celebrities, Barbra Streisand
Tour dates: Oct/Nov, 2017
ISBN: 978-1-61088-211-8
Available in Print, 308 pages

We all know Barbra, the star, but how well do we know Barbra, the woman? In the latest installment of my On the Couch series, Dr. Darcy Dale, a renowned, pioneering Manhattan psychiatrist, is confronted by Barbra, who is dismayed after thirty years of minimally successful therapy. Over the course of a year, Dr. Dale conducts an intimate psychoanalysis, breaking through Barbra’s defense mechanisms and repressions to delve deep into the heart and mind of one of America’s last remaining superstars.

Published at the same time as Streisand’s own, long awaited memoir, Barbra Streisand: On the Couch is an essential companion, a sensitive, objective, pitch-perfect opportunity to look behind the voice and image, and to understand and fully appreciate Barbra Streisand, the human being.

Praise Barbra Streisand: on the Couch by Alma H. Bond, Ph.D.


“Thoroughly enjoyable.”—Kitty Kelley, author of mega bestselling biographies on Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, Rock Hudson, Elizabeth Taylor, Frank Sinatra, Nancy Reagan, the British Royal Family, the Bush family, and Oprah Winfrey

“Absolutely delightful … and wonderful … with fabulous insight … Fans of Barbra Streisand [will] love this book . . . It’s impossible to come away from [it] with anything but a warm, fuzzy feeling for this . . . adored songbird… Underneath is [an] . . . insecure little girl who lost her daddy . . . and never truly got over it.”—Readers Favorite

“This will appeal to anyone who enjoys discovering information about such a celebrity, how she feels about the ups and downs of her life, and other juicy details of her storied sex life and stellar career. […] The book has a can’t-put-it-down quality; the juiciness of the gossip, the emotional insights into her joy and pain, and the remarkable triumphs and failures of her long career are completely fascinating. Although the book is fiction, the author lists in a bibliography the numerous books and articles from which she garnered the very factual events and many of Miss Streisand’s own words from interviews that she used to create the sessions…”-Midwest Book Review

I’ve been a fan of Bond’s On the Couch series for years, but this one is absolutely her best. Barbra Streisand–with all her foibles and charms–comes alive on the pages of this book. Bond digs deep into Streisand’s psyche to give the reader a close-up look at a mega-star.
Instead of a tell-all novel that dishes out the dirt on her many costars, we follow along with Streisand as she herself recounts her many projects, affairs, and early history. Instead of a public relations–approved biography that glosses over Streisand’s need to be in control of her projects, this book revels in it, explores the reasons for a demanding actor/musician/director to behave as she does, shows the reader just how dedicated to her craft Streisand is.
If you’re a fan of her acting, her music, her career, or her activism, this is definitely a book you should read. Even if you’re not a fan, chances are you will be by the time you finish the book.”- Ann Beardsley

About Alma H. Bond, Ph.D.Barbra Streisand: on the Couch by Alma H. Bond


Award winning author, Alma Halbert Bond received her Ph.D. from Columbia University, and became a highly successful psychoanalyst in private practice for 37 years in New York City. She “retired” to become a full-time writer. Barbra Streisand: On the Couch is currently in production with Bancroft Press, who publish the On the Couch series.

Hillary Clinton: On the Couch was published a few months ago, and received a Best Books Award Finalist book award. Jackie O: On the Couch, the first of her On the Couch series to be published by Bancroft Press, was published on August 15, 2011, and received a Pinnacle Book Achievement Award, Best Books Award Finalist USA Book News, and International Book Awards Finalist. . Margaret Mahler, a Biography of the Psychoanalyst was published by McFarland Press in 2008. It received two awards, Best Books Award Finalist USA Book News and Foreword Magazine Book of the Year Finalist.

Michelle Obama, a Biography, was recently published by Greenwood Press. Dr. Bond has had 20 other books published.

Among other organizations, Dr. Bond is a member of the American Society of Journalists and Authors, the Dramatists Guild, PEN, the International Psychoanalytic Association, and the American Psychological Association. She taught psychoanalysis at the Institute for Psychoanalytic Training and Research, where she is a fellow, and also has been a faculty member of WritersSchool, where she taught Psychology and Literature.

Website is http://almabondauthor.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/AlmaHBond
Twitter: https://twitter.com/almabond

Buy Barbra Streisand: on the Couch by Alma H. Bond, Ph.D.


Amazon
Barnes&Noble
Indiebound
BookDepository

Giveaway Barbra Streisand: on the Couch by Alma H. Bond, Ph.D.


This giveaway is for the choice of print or ebook however, print is available to the U.S. Only and ebook is open worldwide.  This giveaway ends on November 30, 2017 midnight pacific time. Entries are accepted via Rafflecopter only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Follow Barbra Streisand: on the Couch by Alma H. Bond, Ph.D. Tour


Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus Oct 19 Giveaway

Gayle Books Reviews Etc Oct 20 Review

Dawn Bound 2 Escape Oct 24 Excerpt & Giveaway

Sal Bound 4 Escape Oct 24 Review

Patricia Reviews by Room With Books Oct 27 Review, Excerpt & Giveaway

Katy Amazon Review Oct 30 Review

Lisa I Feel So Unnecessary Nov 1 Review

Kristin Second Book to the Right Nov 7 Review & Excerpt

Vicki I’d Rather Be Reading At The Beach Nov 13 Review & Giveaway

Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus Nov 22 Review

Greg Amazon Review Nov 30 Review

*This schedule is subject to change.

Barbra Streisand: on the Couch by Alma H. Bond, Ph.D.

Walking the Labyrinth of My Heart Dianna Vagianos ArmentroutWalking the Labyrinth of My Heart by Dianna Vagianos Armentrout


Publisher: White Flowers Press (May 22, 2016)
Category: Self-Help, Grief & Bereavement, Parenting & Relationships, Spirituality, Healing from Loss
Tour dates: Oct/Nov, 2017
ISBN: 978-0982117644
ASIN: B01I2KD37Q
Available in Print & ebook, 130 pages
 Walking the Labyrinth of My Heart

Walking the Labyrinth of My Heart: A Journey of Pregnancy, Grief and Infant Death breaks the lonely, silent suffering of bereaved mothers facing infant and pregnancy loss. Dianna Vagianos Armentrout details her pregnancy journey with her daughter, Mary Rose, who died an hour after birth of trisomy 18, a random genetic illness described as “incompatible with life.”

For five long months of pregnancy, she knew that her baby would not live and thrive, planning a funeral and seeking hospice for her unborn daughter. The heaviness of this grief, which most women bear alone, is shared here and will comfort mothers who have experienced miscarriage, stillbirth and infant death.

With eloquent language, fierce honesty and a record of the rawness of grief, readers in the midst of their own suffering will recognize the path that bereaved parents walk. Dianna’s experiences with infertility, motherhood, infant loss and miscarriage infuse her writing with compassion for all women.

Through journal entries, essays and poetry, Dianna invites the reader to process grief and honor the life of the child, no matter how brief. In addition, readers will learn how to support the bereaved by remembering the baby and pregnancy.

Finally there is a book to honor the pregnancy, baby and loss, loving the children past their death, loving the wombs that nurtured them and accepting the sacred path of mothering children whose bodies are broken, but whose souls are intact and perfectly whole. This book shines with love and the knowledge that even the briefest life is holy.

Read it. Share it. Spread the word. We no longer have to grieve our infants and pregnancies alone.

Praise for Walking the Labyrinth of My Heart by Dianna Vagianos Armentrout


“This beautifully written story of loss, and redemption, is a must-have for anyone who has faced the devastation of losing a child. Yes, you will cry with Dianna, but you will also admire the beauty of her soul.”- Mary Potter Kenyon, author of ‘Refined By Fire’, ‘Chemo-Therapist’, ‘Mary and Me’, et al

“Pregnancy is often thought of (and typically is) a time filled anticipation and joy.  The deep, dark secret is this: pregnancies are sometimes lost.
Dianna Vagianos Armentrout, author of Walking the Labyrinth of My Heart, shows us the inner workings of that harsh reality. With beauty and rawness, she shows the innermost parts of her heart as she journeyed (and journeys) through the “diagnosis” of a Trisomy 18 baby. She shows us her emails, journals, poems, and the “art” of grieving. She explains that the loss of a child is not the end of loving that child. Nor is the grief something that goes away a few weeks after the funeral.
It is a heartfelt and honest read that I would highly recommend to any woman who has dealt or is dealing with a defect. It would also be beneficial to any woman who is dealing with the loss of a baby. Dianna writes the way her spirit is: open, raw, beautiful. She walks with every mother who has ever lost a child.”- Gloria Miles, Simple Miricles Birth Services

“Dianna Vagianos Armentrout takes the grief and heartache of her journey and creates a space that opens hearts. Dianna has written a seminal book that will resonate with those who know the primal pain of losing a child from stillbirth, miscarriage or newborn death. To moms reeling in deep grief, Dianna offers words and comfort and, in doing so, creates a circle of tear-stained realness, fortitude and big love. Brava! This book poignantly and beautifully sings the heart’s song of infant loss.”- Adele Ryan McDowell, Ph.D., author of ‘Making Peace with Suicide’ and ‘Balancing Act’

“Dianna is an amazing woman and a brilliant writer. This book is useful to anyone who has experienced an infant loss or anyone who supports families experiencing infant loss. The work that she is doing in sharing her story is so important to help give perspective and help move through the natural process of death.”-Mr. Books, Amazon Reviewer

About Dianna Vagianos ArmentroutWalking the Labyrinth of My Heart by Dianna Vagianos Armentrout


Dianna Vagianos Armentrout is a published writer, teacher, workshop facilitator and poetry therapist. She graduated from Adelphi University’s Honors Program and earned her MAW from Manhattanville College. Dianna’s pregnancy with her daughter, Mary Rose, who died an hour after birth of trisomy 18, changed her life completely. Her blog, Walking the Labyrinth of My Heart, was launched in April 2015 as a way of offering support to others going through pregnancies with difficult and fatal diagnoses.

Dianna wishes to change the cultural fear of death and social awkwardness around the bereaved by educating others to be present and open to the natural process of death. Not knowing what to say is fine. Let’s sit together quietly not knowing what to say about our most difficult and sacred losses, because a loving community is vital to the healing of the bereaved in our broken world. Dianna volunteers with Isaiah’s Promise as a peer minister, and can’t help sending “Healing Companion” cards to mothers facing pregnancy and newborn losses.

Dianna’s poems, short fiction and essays have been published in several journals and anthologies, including The Vermont Literary Review, The Connecticut Review, The Dos Passos Review, Melusine or Women in the 21st century, Sacred Fire Magazine, Sensations Magazine, and Inkwell. She has taught at Southern Connecticut State University, Quinnipiac University and The Graduate Institute, and has facilitated poetry workshops in the tri-state area. As a poet and teacher, she believes that everyone has the inherent gift of poetry. Her workshops create the space for people to be still and access their own words, images and metaphors as they step into their healing.

She lives at the foothills of the Rocky Mountains. When she isn’t writing or reading, she spends her time outdoors walking and gardening. Dianna also tinkers with recipes for paleo cookies and shares them with those around her.

Website: www.diannavagianos.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/diannavarmentrout/
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/labyrinthofmyheart/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/diannavagianos
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/labyrinthofmyheart/


Buy Walking the Labyrinth of My Heart by Dianna Vagianos Armentrout


Amazon
Barnes&Noble
IndieBound
BookDepository


Giveaway Walking the Labyrinth of My Heart by Dianna Vagianos Armentrout


This giveaway is for the choice of print or ebook however, print is available to the U.S. Only and ebook is open worldwide.  This giveaway ends on November 30, 2017 midnight pacific time. Entries are accepted via Rafflecopter only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Follow Walking the Labyrinth of My Heart by Dianna Vagianos Armentrout


Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus Oct 17 Kickoff & Giveaway

Katy Amazon Review Oct 18 Review

Donna My Life One Story At a Time Oct 23 Excerpt & Giveaway

Pamela S Thibodeaux Nov 11 Spotlight

Don Amazon Review Nov 14 Review

Lu Ann Rockin’ Book Reviews Nov 21 Review, Guest Post & Giveaway

Cremona Mythical Books Nov 22 Guest Post

Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus Nov 28 Review

Sheila’s Guests and Reviews Nov 29 Review & Guest Post

*This schedule is subject to change

Walking the Labyrinth of My Heart by Dianna Vagianos Armentrout

Journey Within by J. Mitchel Baker
Journey Within by J. Mitchel Baker


Publisher: Artistic Origins (April 30, 2017)
Category: Memoir, Adventure, Inspirational
Tour dates: Oct-Nov, 2017
ISBN: 978-1-940385-05-1
ASIN: B071YRHTY4
Available in Print & ebook, 181 pages

The true story of a simple man who has spent his life working amidst the quiet embrace of nature and her animals. Despite the happy normalcy, his soul calls out to him through a series of visions urging him to search for the higher design in his life. His inner voice beckons him out into the wilderness, away from all that he knows and understands, to find the higher meaning of himself.

After nearly a decade of stubborn denial, he removes his self-imposed blindfolds to embark on what is to become his personal journey into the unknown.What he finds will forever change his life.

Instead of meaning, he finds a tempest. Finding courage through his animals he forges onward in search of his own truth.  Is there a greater universal design for each of us? Or is there only chaos and confusion? Your answer lies within, if only you dare to take the journey.

 A Journey Within highlights the duality between both the physical and the spiritual.  It carries a message of courage and inspiration to connect with life and the inner-self, taking the road less traveled, and living authentically.

Praise Journey Within by J. Mitchel Baker


“A good book. A REALLY good book. The author has a way with words. He has you thinking you are right there with him. I enjoyed the adventure Mr. Baker. Thank you!  It reminded me somewhat of “Wild” by Cheryl Strayed. It all goes back to, or starts with, “Why do bad things happen to Good People”? I’ve been trying to figure that out myself. I’ve read so many books in an effort to find an answer that I agree with. Some ideas make sense, some do not. I truly hope Mr. Bakers’ journey (s) help him find the answer.”-Kindle Customer

Interview With J. Mitchel Baker

TR: Please tell us something about ‘The Journey Within’ that is not in the summary.  (About the book, character you particularly enjoyed writing etc.)

JB: The telling of this story is, and has been, an intensely uncomfortable moment for me. It all began easily enough with the wilderness experience practically writing itself, with the constant traumatic replay seared into my visual and emotional memory. But then my editor said “no”. “Not enough.” “Go deeper.” She wanted the reader to know me, to experience the adventure through my lens.

Therein lies my paradox – I am a quiet, introspective observer of life, yet at the same time shouting out to the universe revealing all things highly personal to me. She was right; the story could not be told well without linking the person behind the adventure. But the discomfort remains.

TR: Describe the room you are sitting in as though it was a scene in one of your books.

JB: Slow, stealthy footsteps creep silently across the tile floor. The sun barely sheds light through the windows. The only sounds to be heard in the house are the clock on the wall, the coffee brewing, and the early birds chirping outside. Morning is my alone time. A time to focus. A time to write. Slowly I pull the wooden chair from beneath the table. The long deep moan of the chair echoes loudly throughout the house. I pause with a grimace until silence again settles in. No movement is heard. Quickly sitting, I find myself uncomfortably far from the table. Yet I dare not move the chair closer for fear of waking the family. I am ready. Let the work begin.

My mind has taken me back to that moment: remembering, experiencing, re-living. My words flow freely onto the page.

“Good morning”.

Startled, I look up to find my wife peaking around the corner into my inner-sanctum – the dining room.

“Whatcha doin?”

“I’m writing” I reply.

“Oh. I’m sorry” she says. “I’ll leave you alone.”

My mind tries to go back to that place from where I came as the sounds of pots and pans clatter in the next room. With a great deal of focus, despite the background noise, I’m finally back in my mind once again: visually in the moment, feeling the pain, and again finding my words.

 “Are you gonna mow the lawn today?”

Slowly I close my laptop.

TR: Using only adverbs, describe the writing process for you.

JB: Lightly but deeply; almost always playfully, sometimes sadly, but certainly powerfully.

TR: What writers have you drawn inspiration from? What other inspirations do you draw from?

JB: Having avoided mandatory reading through school as much as possible, I began reading consistently as a young adult, drawn to stories of intrigue from writers such as Uris, Ludlum, and Clancy. They took me to foreign lands and introduced me to dangerous lives. From there, I broadened into stories of Americana from McMurtry, Hillerman, Grisham, and L’Amour. But I found the truly great writers in the classics; of Hemingway, of Steinbeck, of Emerson, of Twain, of Buck, of Tolstoy – powerful writers who seemed to break all the literary rules.

But in the end, great stories don’t need to be only from authors notable in name. As a reader, I simply want the storyteller, any storyteller, to fully take me with them into the story.

TR: How long did it take you to complete ‘The Journey Within’?

JB: 4 months. Most of which was dedicated to wrapping my head around the emotions and thought processes that needed to be shared with the readers. Because my story is based on actual events, I could move forward at a breakneck pace through simple regurgitation.

TR: Which actor/actress would you like to see playing the lead character from your most recent book?

JB: Sam Elliot represents the iconic American cowboy. One could only wish he might choose to play a role that is me.

TR: Tell us about your cover. Did you design it yourself?

JB: Designed by Brandon White.

Admittedly, so much marketing emphasis is placed on the cover. This is what initially draws attention to a book. But I’m a rancher first and foremost, learning as I go about the publication industry, and never having travelled this road before, I clearly understand I’m an infant in the field. What I do know is that my budget is limited. I get nervous about potential costs.

So, thinking ahead to the cover, my idea was simply to have a contemplative pose over a campfire, hoping it might appeal to the cowboy/cowgirl in all of us. I told my wife what I was looking for and she took the pictures.

When it came time for cover design, I forwarded nearly every electronic photo I had to my publisher and she chose what I had hoped for – the photo from my early idea – something already paid for.

TR: If you could be somebody else for a day who would you choose and why?

JB: Almost anybody else as long as they were outside. I love the outdoors. That is where I draw my strength. That is where I feel connected to the earth.

TR: What are you currently working on?

JB: I am working on the second book of this story. The story told by ‘A Journey Within’ only tells of the life-altering event that had the power to change the course and direction of my life. I have since then wandered farther into the wilderness to see where that direction leads me. Wouldn’t you like to know what happened?

TR: What book/s are you reading at present?

JB: ‘Spider Woman’s Daughter’ by Anne Hillerman. I miss the Navajo stories once told by Tony Hillerman. But happily his daughter carries the torch now.

About J. Mitchel BakerJourney Within by J. Mitchel Baker

Mitchel Baker is a graduate of Texas A&M University, living in San Antonio with his family. He has dedicated his life to ranching and managing natural resources, and continues to be a student of all things visceral. He is currently working on his sequel to A Journey Within as he stumbles awkwardly toward a higher consciousness.

Website: www.jmitchelbaker.com

Buy Journey Within by J. Mitchel Baker


Amazon

Giveaway Journey Within by J. Mitchel Baker


This giveaway is for the choice of print or ebook however, print is available to the U.S. Only and ebook is open worldwide.  This giveaway ends on November 30, 2017 midnight pacific time.  Entries are accepted via Rafflecopter only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway


Follow Journey Within by J. Mitchel Baker Tour


Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus Oct 16 Interview & Giveaway

Jessica JBronder Book Reviews Oct 17 Review

Rebecca Paperback Writer Oct 18 Excerpt

Dawn Bound 2 Escape Oct 19 Excerpt  & Giveaway

Megan Mommy’s Memorandum Oct 20 Review & Excerpt

Raymond Amazon Reviewer Oct 23 Review

Katy Amazon Reviewer Oct 24 Review

Leonide Leonide Martin Blog Nov 6 Review & Guest Post

Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus Nov 29 Review

*This schedule is subject to change

Journey Within by J. Mitchel Baker