;

Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus More


Treacherous Curse by Deanna RaybournTreacherous Curse by Deanna Raybourn


Thanks to Loren Jaggers of Berkley Publishing, I am giving away one print copy of ‘A Treacherous Curse’ by Deanna Raybourn.

Description Treacherous Curse by Deanna Raybourn


As colorful and unfettered as the butterflies she collects, Victorian adventuress Veronica Speedwell can’t resist the allure of an exotic mystery—particularly one involving her enigmatic colleague, Stoker. His former expedition partner has vanished from an archaeological dig with a priceless diadem unearthed from the newly discovered tomb of an Egyptian princess. This disappearance is just the latest in a string of unfortunate events that have plagued the controversial expedition, and rumors abound that the curse of the vengeful princess has been unleashed as the shadowy figure of Anubis himself stalks the streets of London.

But the perils of an ancient curse are not the only challenges Veronica must face as sordid details and malevolent enemies emerge from Stoker’s past. Caught in a tangle of conspiracies and threats—and thrust into the public eye by an enterprising new foe—Veronica must separate facts from fantasy to unravel a web of duplicity that threatens to cost Stoker everything. . . .

Praise Treacherous Curse by Deanna Raybourn


“Veronica Speedwell might just be one of the most endearing heroines in mysteries, period…. [a] woman ahead of her Victorian times. She’s smart, dashing, and entirely capable…Her sense of humor and chemistry with Stoker, her counterpart, just make this series even better.”—Bustle.com

 “Full of innuendo and amusing repartee, Deanna Raybourn’s sly wit will be appreciated by readers of romance and historical fiction alike.”—Shelf Awareness

“Raybourn’s effervescent sequel to 2015’s A Curious Beginning combines witty suspense with a playful look at the secrets proper Victorians hid.”—Publishers Weekly

“Another exciting installment in Raybourn’s promising historical-mystery series, starring a fun heroine who defies convention and embraces intrigue.”—Booklist

About Deanna Raybourn


Treacherous Curse by Deanna Raybourn

(c) Sigmon Taylor Photography

Deanna Raybourn is the New York Times bestselling author of the award-winning Lady Julia Grey series, the Veronica Speedwell series and several standalone novels. She lives in Virginia with her family.
Website: www.deannaraybourn.com/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/deannaraybourn

Buy Treacherous Curse by Deanna Raybourn


Amazon
Barnes&Noble
BookDepository
Indiebound

Giveaway Treacherous Curse by Deanna Raybourn


This giveaway is open to the U.S. only and ends on February 2, 2018 midnight pacific time.  Entries are accepted via Rafflecopter only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Dark Gray Blanket by H. BurnsDark Gray Blanket by H. Burns


Thanks to Katie Schnack of Smith Publicity, Inc., I am giving away one print copy of ‘The Dark Gray Blanket’ by H. Burns.

Description Dark Gray Blanket by H. Burns


The winters of ’76 and ’77 in the greater Detroit and Oakland County area of Michigan were extremely harsh, with record snowfall, brutal temperatures, and incessant howling winds. During these winters, a deranged serial killer preyed upon preteen and early teen victims, both male and female. As snow would begin to fall, the killer would hunt and abduct them, keep them at a secluded location, bathe them, meticulously groom them, feed them their favorite meal, and then wait for the next snowstorm. Under the cover of the next snowfall, the killer would hide their corpses in snowbanks on secondary roads, where they would be found by passing motorists.

This story is a fictional account of an over-the-hill detective, Frank Pellegrini, and his strange obsession in the pursuit of that killer.

Praise Dark Gray Blanket by H. Burns


“H. Burns sets the table for a memorable story with his accurate accounting of a harsh, Michigan winter. The secret that lies beneath will keep you on edge and like myself unable to put the book down… The vivid descriptions of Detroit, Oakland County, and the shadow that was once cast upon the Motor City add to the grip that surrounded this proud area of Michigan. In the tradition of Patterson, Cromwell, and Clancy, The Dark Grey Blanket will have you reliving this tale well after you’ve finished reading. A must read!”–Steve R., Automotive Executive (Retired)

“I loved this book from beginning to end! While uniquely intertwining fact and fiction, the author weaves a captivating mystery set in a Detroit of days gone by, the essence of which is captured in fine detail. Children ‘lost’ in the dead of winter and found in bizarre circumstances… A detective called upon to investigate who cannot explain why he is so drawn to these cases. Spellbinding! Left me hoping for a sequel!”–Lorna B., Design Engineer (Retired)

“…a winner out of the starting gate. Every mystery fan will be engrossed from the first chapter, taken up in the evil and agony as this traumatic episode evolves. Based upon actual events, Burns leads the reader through the time when no parents in the area of Detroit could feel secure about the safety of their children… This critic doesn’t see THE DARK GRAY BLANKET collecting dust on any bookstore shelf. Read it, recommend it, and reference it. It’s a keeper.”–Dean M., Communications Corporation Senior Statistician

About H. Burns


Burns is the author of The Dark Grey Blanket. Burns earned a degree in psychology and marketing, and then pursued a successful career with Ford Motor Company. During the harsh winters of 1976 and 1977, he was on assignment at the Renaissance Center in downtown Detroit.

He, his wife, and their two daughters, ages ten and twelve, lived in Northville, Michigan where they watched the developing nightmare of the “Babysitter Killer” from afar. The killer’s last victim, a twelve-year-old, was found less than three miles from their home, and this acted as the inspiration for ‘The Dark Gray Blanket’.

Website: www.thedarkgrayblanket.com


Buy Dark Gray Blanket by H. Burns

Amazon
Barnes&Noble
BookDepository

Giveaway Dark Gray Blanket by H. Burns


This giveaway is open to Canada and the U.S. only and ends on January 26, 2018 midnight pacific time.  Entries are accepted via Rafflecopter only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Free Fall to Black by John H. CunninghamFree Fall to Black by John H. Cunningham


Thanks to Ann-Marie Nieves of Get Red PR, I am giving away one print copy of Free Fall to Black by John H. Cunningham.

Description Free Fall to Black by John H. Cunningham


Travel back to 2006 and the penultimate moment of Buck Reilly’s former success when he discovers the crypt of the Mayan Serpent King and royal treasury in Guatemala, then marries top super model Heather Drake, and bask in his fifteen minutes of fame–before it suddenly blows apart.

By 2008, with the world economy on the brink of collapse, Buck and Jack Dodson’s company is already under siege due to fraud, backstabbing and greed that turns their friends and family alike into adversaries. Hubris and hasty decisions lead to irreversible consequences, and when a business partner turns up dead, business as usual isn’t business any more. 

For fans of the Buck Reilly series, buckle up for the turbulent ride that led him to Last Resort Charter and Salvage in Key West, and for new readers, this prequel will launch you into the six book series with your eyes wide open, and Buck’s scars still fresh.

Praise Free Fall to Black by John H. Cunningham


“Green To Go is a rip-roaring, lock you to your seat adventure that careens through the Caribbean with the momentum of a crash landing. Great characters, excellent suspense, just enough romance, and lots of action, all bound together with the author’s crisp writing style.”- Michael Reisig, author of The Road To Key West

“John Cunningham’s “Crystal Blue” will make you a Buck Reilly fan, if you’re not already. Cunningham’s ability to take the Antilles, a collection of tropical Caribbean islands that spreads out from the Bahamas and ends off the coast of South America, and turn them from sandy beaches and bars of Paradise to a precarious locale whenever Buck Reilly shows up is unique. Along the bumpy and exciting ride, you can expect Reilly’s eclectic group of friends and miscreants to show up, along with his nemeses FBI Special Agent T. Edward Booth – who is not above blackmailing Reilly to get what he wants.
Of course, there’s the “Beast,” Reilly’s air worthy, if not color-coordinated seaplane, a beautiful woman – looking for a missing husband and trying to put on a benefit rock concert in the British Virgin Islands – and an array of thugs.
Reilly needs the money from the charter businesses but ends up in a misadventure that threatens his life, his seaplane, the rock concert and the beautiful married woman. As he tries to sort out what’s happening, deal with Booth, and protect his plane, Reilly has to say alive to accomplish it all. He finds out it’s not as simple as sippin’ a mojito on a barstool in Key West.
You’ll be reading all night because the page-turner of a book will keep you wondering until the last pages.”- Michael Haskins, Author, Mick Murphy Key West mystery series

About John H. Cunningham


John H. Cunningham has a background as eclectic as Buck Reilly himself. An avid traveler and island hopper, commercial real estate developer, and former editor of The Pro Review, and like Buck is an aviation enthusiast.

John splits time in Key West, Virginia and New York City, so spends much of his time in the air, on the sea or researching places and plots for the Buck Reilly Series.

Website: jhcunningham.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/jh_cunningham

Buy Free Fall to Black by John H. Cunningham


Amazon
Barnes&Noble
BookDepository

Giveaway Free Fall to Black by John H. Cunningham


This giveaway is open to the U.S. only and ends on January 26, 2018 midnight pacific time.  Entries are accepted via Rafflecopter only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway