;

Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus More


Colorblind by Leah Harper BowronColorblind by Leah Harper Bowron


Colorblind

Thanks to Paxton Kelly of PR by the Book, I am giving away one print copy of Colorblind by Leah Harper Bowron.

Description of Colorblind by Leah Harper Bowron


The time was 1968. The place was Montgomery, Alabama. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. and Sen. Bobby Kennedy had been assassinated. War was raging in Vietnam. And war was raging on the playground of the all-white Wyatt Elementary School.

Schoolyard bullies teased sixth grader Lisa Parker because of the way her nose looked.  Lisa would often develop a stomachache and check out of school to escape the bullies.  Until sixth grade teacher Miss Annie Loomis came to Wyatt. Miss Loomis just happened to be the first African American at Wyatt, and Lisa loved her English class. Now, when the bullies teased Lisa, she would stay in school so that she could be in Miss Loomis’ class.  Yet something terrible happened that would change Lisa and Miss Loomis forever.  

Racism reared its ugly head at Wyatt, and now Lisa was not the only victim of the bullies’ teasing.  Would Miss Loomis endure the bullies’ racist taunts?

About Leah Harper BowronColorblind by Leah Harper Bowron


Leah Harper Bowron is a lawyer and James Joyce scholar from Birmingham, Alabama. Her article “Coming of Age in Alabama: Ex parte Devine Abolishes the Tender Years Presumption” was published in the Alabama Law Review. She recently lectured on Joyce’s novel Ulysses at the University of London and the Universite de Reims. She lives in Texas and has a daughter named Sarah and a cat named Jamie.

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/leah.bowronAmazon

Buy Colorblind by Leah Harper Bowron


Amazon

Giveaway of Colorblind by Leah Harper Bowron


This giveaway is open to the U.S. only and ends on July 28, 2017 midnight pacific time.  Entries are accepted via Rafflecopter only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

When the Future Comes Too Soon (Malayan #2) by Selina Siak Chin YokeWhen the Future Comes Too Soon (Malayan #2) by Selina Siak Chin Yoke


When the Future Comes Too Soon

Thanks to Ellen Whitfield of JKS Communications, I am giving away one print copy of When the Future Comes Too Soon (Malayan #2) by Selina Siak Chin Yoke.

Description of When the Future Comes Too Soon (Malayan #2) by Selina Siak Chin Yoke


In Japanese-occupied Malaya, lives are shattered and a woman discovers her inner strength in a world ravaged by war.

Following the death of their matriarch, the lives of Chye Hoon’s family turned upside down. Now that the British have fled and the Japanese have conquered, their once-benign world changes overnight.

Amid the turmoil, Chye Hoon’s daughter-in-law, Mei Foong, must fend for her family as her husband, Weng Yu, becomes increasingly embittered. Challenged in ways she never could have imagined and forced into hiding, Mei Foong finds a deep reservoir of resilience she did not know she had and soon draws the attentions of another man.

Is Mei Foong’s resolve enough to save herself, her marriage, and her family? Only when peace returns to Malaya will she learn the full price she must pay for survival.

Praise for When the Future Comes Too Soon (Malayan #2) by Selina Siak Chin Yoke


“As Malayan society grapples with the changes brought on by war and occupation, Mei Foong barters away pieces of her existence in order to survive, and rebuild and reclaim her life. She must finally contend with the realization that one could only wholly reclaim oneself by acts of self-assertion requiring greater courage than needed merely to survive. When the Future Comes Too Soon by Selina Siak Chin Yoke is an intricately drawn network of human relationships.” —Musharraf Ali Farooqi, author of Man Asian Literary Prize-shortlisted Between Clay and Dust

“Selina Siak Chin Yoke has created an intensely visceral evocation of life in Malaya during World War II, when a young wife and her family confront the harshness of life under the Japanese occupation and the ethnic polarization it causes. Mei Foong is a hauntingly original character, torn between loyalty to her family and the risk of betrayal—a woman who fatefully defies the constricting conventions of her society.” —María Dueñas, author of New York Times bestselling The Time in Between

About Selina Siak Chin YokeWhen the Future Comes Too Soon (Malayan #2) by Selina Siak Chin Yoke


Of Malaysian-Chinese heritage, Selina Siak Chin Yoke grew up listening to family stories and ancient legends. She always knew that one day, she would write. After an eclectic life as a physicist, banker and trader in London, the heavens intervened. In 2009 Chin Yoke was diagnosed with cancer. While recovering, she decided not to delay her dream of writing any longer.

Her first novel, “The Woman who Breathed Two Worlds” (The Malayan Series, #1), was published on November 1, 2016 and made an immediate emotional connection with readers. It debuted as an Amazon bestseller in historical fiction, was named by Goodreads as one of the six best books in the month of its release and has been favorably compared to the work of Pearl S. Buck and Amy Tan. “When the Future Comes Too Soon” is her latest novel.

Giveaway of When the Future Comes Too Soon (Malayan #2) by Selina Siak Chin Yoke


This giveaway is open to the U.S. only and ends on July 28, 2017 midnight pacific time.  Entries are accepted via Rafflecopter only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Bringing Her Home by David BellBring Her Home by David Bell

Bring Her Home

Thanks to Ann-Marie Nieves of Get Red PR, I am giving away one print copy of Bring Her Home by David Bell.

Description of Bring Her Home by David Bell


Just a year and a half after the tragic death of his wife, Bill Price’s fifteen-year-old daughter, Summer, and her best friend, Haley, disappear. Days later, the girls are found in a city park. Haley is dead at the scene, while Summer is left beaten beyond recognition and clinging to life.
 
As Bill holds vigil over Summer’s bandaged body, the only sound the unconscious girl can make is one cryptic and chilling word: No. And the more time Bill spends with Summer, the more he wonders what happened to her. Or if the injured girl in the hospital bed is really his daughter at all.
 
When troubling new questions about Summer’s life surface, Bill is not prepared for the aftershocks. He’ll soon discover that both the living and the dead have secrets. And that searching for the truth will tear open old wounds that pierce straight to the heart of his family…

Note: Especially good for readers of Tana French, John Hart, Mary Kubica.

Praise for BringHer Home by David Bell


“David Bell writes taut, intelligent, and intense suspense that is deeply human.”—Mark Greaney, New York Times bestselling author of GUNMETAL GRAY

“Bill Price’s daughter is missing when two girls are found—one dead the other close to it. So begins David Bell’s latest novel, BRING HER HOME, an exciting and well-layered mystery that keeps the reader guessing until the very end.  It’s terrific. Bell is a master storyteller with a sure hand at crafting characters you feel for and stories you relish.”—Allen Eskens, bestselling author of THE HEAVENS MAY FALL

“A tense and twisty suspense novel about the dark secrets that lie buried within a community and a father who can save his daughter only by uncovering them. Will leave parents wondering just how well they truly know their children.”—Hester Young, author of THE GATES OF EVANGELINE and THE SHIMMERING ROAD

About David BellBringng Her Home by David Bell


David Bell is the author of seven novels from Berkley/Penguin, including BRING HER HOME, SINCE SHE WENT AWAY, SOMEBODY I USED TO KNOW, THE FORGOTTEN GIRL, NEVER COME BACK, THE HIDING PLACE, and CEMETERY GIRL. His work has been translated into numerous foreign languages, and in 2013, he won the prestigious Prix Polar International de Cognac for best crime novel by an international author.

 He is an associate professor of English at Western Kentucky University where he directs the MFA program in creative writing. A native of Cincinnati, Ohio, he spends his free time rooting for the Reds and Bengals, watching movies, and walking in the cemetery near his house. He lives in Bowling Green, Kentucky, with his wife, writer Molly McCaffrey.

Giveaway of Bring Her Home by David Bell


This giveaway is open to the U.S. only and ends on July 28, 2017 midnight pacific time.  Entries are accepted via Rafflecopter only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway