;

Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus More


Years That Followed by Catherine DunneYears That Followed by Catherine Dunne


Thanks to Courtney Brach of Simon & Schuster, Inc., I am giving away two print copies of The Years That Followed by Catherine Dunne.

Description of Years That Followed by Catherine Dunne


Inspired by the Greek myth of Clytemnestra and Agamemnon’s turbulent relationship, Dunne turns the classic myth into a passionate and tragic tale of modern revenge set against political unrest.

THE YEARS THAT FOLLOWED is set in 1960s through the 1980s, sweeping across the lush European backdrops of Spain, Greece, and Ireland. For fans of Elena Ferrante’s unflinching portrayal of female personhood, the novel weaves together intricate revenge plots crafted by two wronged women—both of whom are part-victim, partvillain—to explore the themes of motherhood, power, and failed relationships. As the women’s schemes begin to unravel, shockwaves are sent through their families, echoing for many generations to come.

Dublin. Calista is young, beautiful, and headstrong. When she falls in love with the charming, older Alexandros and moves to his native Cyprus, she could never imagine that her whirlwind courtship would lead to a dark and violent marriage. With two young children dependent on her, Calista learns to survive Alexandros’s abusive ways. She knows she will find peace when she can finally seek retribution.

Madrid. Pilar Domínguez grew up in rural Spain and has finally escaped to a new life, and she is determined to leave poverty behind her. As Pilar plunges into a life of work and saving money, she becomes enchanted by an older man and revels in their romance, her freedom, and her accruing wealth and success. She’s on the road to realizing her ambitions . . . but is suddenly abandoned by her lover. Now alone, there is one thing that Pilar is searching for, and it’s the one thing she knows will make her truly happy.

Praise for Years That Followed by Catherine Dunne


“Lived-in, hard-earned feminism swirled with a noir tone and dark turns makes for a great read.” —Kirkus Reviews

 “Both women are nuanced, sympathetic characters whose lives and loves are well developed throughout this darkly compelling story.” —Publishers Weekly

“In this page-turner that’s both poignant and satisfying, Dunne knows how to write the woman scorned, betrayed, and eventually reborn.” —Booklist

About Catherine Dunne


Years That Followed by Catherine Dunne

(c) Noel Hills

CATHERINE DUNNE is the author of nine previous novels including The Things We Know Now, which won the 700th anniversary Giovanni Boccaccio International Prize for Fiction in 2013. She was recently long-listed for the inaugural Laureate for Irish Fiction Award in 2015. Her work has been translated into several languages. She lives in Dublin.

Giveaway of Years That Followed by Catherine Dunne


This giveaway is open to Canada and the U.S. only and ends on November 11, 2016 midnight pacific time.  Entries are accepted via Rafflecopter only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Hidden Figures by Margot Lee ShetterlyHidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly


Back in the day of the Jim Crow South, NASA was desperate to find mathematicians to work for them. ‘Hidden Figures’ is the true story of the many female African-American mathematicians who worked in the space program.  They were known as “colored computers”.

‘Hidden Figures’ is the story of 5 of them, Dorothy Vaughan, Mary Jackson, Katherine Johnson, Christine Darden, and Gloria Champine. Their story is told through interviews, documents, correspondence, etc.

Until I found out about this book, I had no idea that NASA had so many female African American Mathematicians working for them.  Hell, back in the 50’s and 60’s that not only would hav3e been considered “men’s work” but also almost exclusive to white men, especially in the south!  So, when I found out about ‘hidden Figures’ and the history it tells, I jumped to the opportunity to read you.

You may think because it is non-fiction that it is a dry account of what happened but you would be wrong.  Margot Lee Shetterly wrote about both the private and public lives of these women which made it a more personal touch and a riveting read. ‘Hidden Figures’ is truly a hidden gem.  If you like history in general, the space race, women’s history, or African American history, this is a must read!

I received a free print copy of this book.

5/5

About Margot Lee ShetterlyHidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly

Margot Lee Shetterly grew up in Hampton, Virginia, where she knew many of the women in her book Hidden Figures. She is an Alfred P. Sloan Foundation Fellow and the recipient of a Virginia Foundation for the Humanities grant for her research on women in computing. She lives in Charlottesville, Virginia.

Al Capone by Deirdre Bair: Giveaway

Posted by Teddyrose@1 on October 26, 2016
Posted in My Past Giveaways  | Tagged With: , , , | 3 Comments

Al Capone by Deirdre BairAl Capone by Deirdre Bair


Thanks Lauren Weber of Doubleday Marketing, I am giving away one print copy of Al Capone by Deirdre Bair.

Description of Al Capone by Deirdre Bair


From a National Book Award-winning biographer, the first complete life of legendary gangster Al Capone to be produced with the cooperation of his family, who provided the author with exclusive access to personal testimony and archival documents. 

Born in 1899 in Brooklyn, New York, to poor, Italian immigrant parents, Al Capone went on to become the most infamous gangster in American history. In 1925, during the height of Prohibition, Capone’s multi-million-dollar Chicago bootlegging, prostitution, and gambling operation dominated the organized-crime scene. His competition with rival gangs was brutally violent, a long-running war that crested with the shocking St. Valentine’s Day Massacre of 1929. Through it all, and despite the best efforts of law enforcement and the media elite, Capone remained above the fray. Federal income-tax evasion was the strongest charge that could be made to stick, and in 1931 he was sentenced to eleven years in federal prison. After serving six-and-a-half years, mostly in Alcatraz, a severely impaired Capone, badly damaged by neurosyphillis, was released to live out his final years with his family in Miami. From his heyday to the present moment, Al Capone’s life has gripped the public imagination, and his gangster persona has been immortalized in the countless movies and books inspired by his exploits.

But who was the man behind the legend? Capone loved to tell tall tales that perpetuated his mystique; newspapers loved him and frequently embellished or fabricated stories about him to sell copies. While some remember him as fundamentally kind and good, others speak of how frightening he was, a vicious, cold-blooded killer. Was Al really such a quotable wit? Did he really shower the poor with hundred-dollar bills and silver dollars from the window of his bulletproof car? Did he really keep a bevy of mistresses ensconced in his hotel headquarters in Chicago? Writing with exclusive access to Capone’s descendants, Deirdre Bair finally gets at the truth behind this eternally fascinating man, who was equal parts charismatic mobster, doting father, and calculating monster.

Praise for Al Capone by Deirdre Bair


“Deirdre Bair’s enticing new gangster biography knocks it out of the park. In the hands of a master life-storyteller, Al Capone’s brief, explosive career seems as all-American as apple pie and sawed-off shotguns. Fans of The Godfather, The Sopranos, or Boardwalk Empire are sure to find the book addictive.”—Marion Meade, author of Bobbed Hair and Bathtub Gin

 “Beautifully researched and immensely readable, Al Capone peels away layers to reveal a consistently surprising and exquisitely complex portrait of the man behind the legend.”—Karen Abbott, author of Sin in the Second City

“A definitive biography of ‘Public Enemy #1’ … Bair has written perhaps the last word on Capone. Highly recommended.”—Library Journal

About Deirdre Bair


Al Capone by Deirdre Bair

© Brennan Cavanaugh

DEIRDRE BAIR received the National Book Award for Samuel Beckett: A Biography. Her biographies of Simone de Beauvoir and Carl Jung were finalists for the Los Angeles Times Book Prize, and the Simone de Beauvoir biography was chosen by The New York Times as a Best Book of the Year. Her biography of Anaïs Nin and her most recent book, Saul Steinberg: A Biography, were bothNew York Times Notable Books.

Giveaway of Al Capone by Deirdre Bair


This giveaway is open to the U.S. only and ends on November 11, 2016 midnight pacific time.  Entries are accepted via Rafflecopter only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway