;

Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus More


Today, it is my pleasure to kick off the tour for ‘The Girl Who Came Back To Life by Craig Staufenberg!

girlwhocamebacktolife_cover_highresPublisher: Create Space  (April 16, 2014)
ISBN: 978-1497532731
Category: Fantasy, Magic, Fairytale
Tour Date: October, 2014
Available in: Print & ebook, 180 Pages

“When you die, your spirit wakes in the north, in the City of the Dead. There, you wander the cold until one of your living loved ones finds you, says “Goodbye,” and Sends you to the next world.

After her parents die, 12-year-old Sophie refuses to release their spirits. Instead, she resolves to travel to the City of the Dead to bring her mother and father’s spirits back home with her.

Taking the long pilgrimage north with her gruff & distant grandmother—by train, by foot, by boat; over ruined mountains and plains and oceans—Sophie struggles to return what death stole from her. Yet the journey offers her many hard, unexpected lessons—what to hold on to, when to let go, and who she must truly bring back to life.”

Praise for ‘The Girl Who Came Back To Life:

“Once I started it, I had to finish it in one sitting to see what happened to Sophie.”-Lisa R.

“I am an avid reader and an experienced editor, and I thoroughly enjoyed this read. The story is unique and interesting. I have not read one like this one before. It is appealing in a very human and also a very transcendent way – calling on our desires to have strength, to make amends, to feel, and to forget.”-Dara S.

“Sophie’s coming-of-age story is harrowing, but also incredibly unassuming and honest. There is a simplicity and a clarity to your writing that makes this epic journey seem relatable.”-Isaac S.

“A very good read!”-Frank B.

Praise for Craig Staufenberg’s ‘9/11 heartbreaker’:

“Author Craig Staufenberg has created an amazing little graphic novel that is touching and compelling and not at all what I expected.”-Nolan B. Canova, Crazed Fanboy 

“What could have been exploitative or overtly cheesy and sentimental instead comes off as personal. This are memories and views that aren’t forced upon the reader. The rough art ads to that personal touch. This really feels like an illustrated journal entry. The writer has something to say, and needed to get it off his chest.”Bret Schenker, Graphic Policy 

“Staufenberg, who began the book as a means of exploring our generation’s memories and feelings about September 11, has created one of the most poignant and thought-provoking reactions to the events of that day that I’ve had the pleasure of encountering in any form of media.”-Marc, With Great Power 

“By the end, the philosophical introspection and haunting feel of the 911 heartbreaker give this tale a very unique feel. I’m really glad I spent some time with this heartbreaker.”-Jason Sacks, Comics Bulletin

About Craig Staufenberg:CraigStaufenberg_AuthorImage

Craig Staufenberg is a writer and filmmaker living in NYC.

Website: http://craigstaufenberg.com/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/YouMakeArtDumb
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com
/YouMakeArtDumb
Google+: https://plus.google.com
/108490376831859338288/posts

Buy ‘The Girl Who Came Back To Life’:

Amazon
Barnes & Noble
Book Depository

Book Giveaway:

This giveaway is open internationally however, the print book is only available to the U.S. and Canada. An international winner will receive the ebook.  This giveaway ends on November 22, 2014.  Please use Rafflecopter to enter.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the Tour:

Teddy Rose Book Reviews Sept 30 Giveaway
The News in Books Oct. 1 Review & Guest Post
Pinky’s Favorite Reads Oct. 2 Excerpt
Cassandra M’s Place Oct. 3 Review & Giveaway
Mom With A Kindle Oct. 3 Interview & Excerpt
100 Pages A Day Oct  5 Review & Excerpt
Christy’s Cozy Corners Oct 6 Review & Giveaway
Wall-to-wall books Oct. 7 Review
I’m A Voracious Reader Oct. 8 Review
The Rest Is Still Unwritten Oct. 10 Guest Post & Excerpt
Sweet Southern Home Oct 13 Review
Becky’s Barmy Book Blog  Oct  14 Guest Post & Excerpt
Geeks in High School Oct 15 Review
I Feel So Unnecessary Oct 16 Review
Rockin’ Book Reviews Oct. 17 Review, Interview, & Excerpt
The YA Lit Chick Oct. 20 Review
Lady in Read Oct. 21 Review
LetsTalkAboutBooks Oct. 22 Review
Falling Books Oct 24 Interview & Giveaway
Deal Sharing Aunt Oct. 27 Review, Interview, & Excerpt
What U Talking Bout Willis? Oct 29 Review & Excerpt
Satisfaction for Insatiable Readers Oct 31 Review
The Librarian Fatale Nov. 3 Review
Giveaways & Glitter Nov. 4 Review & Giveaway
A Dream Within A Dream Nov 5 Review & Giveaway
JBronder Book Reviews Nov 6 Review
Manic Mama of 3 Nov. 7 Review & Excerpt
Cici’s Theories Nov 10 Review, Guest Post, & Giveaway
Teddy Rose Book Reviews Nov 11 Review
I Can Has Books? Nov 12 Review
Two Children and a Migraine Nov 13 Review
Indie Re Behind the Scenes Nov 20 11 am CST Live Interview (Google+ Hangout)
The Book Lovers’ Lounge Nov 21 Review

A death in Vegas coverToday it is my immense pleasure to kick of the ‘A Death In Vegas’ Tour!  The award winning author, Christopher Meeks has written several books and I have been a fan for several years now.

Description of ‘A Death In Vegas’:

Publisher: White Whisker Books (August 15, 2014)
Category: Mystery
ISBN: 9781499124551
Tour Date: October, 2014
Available in: Print & ebook, 176 Pages

In A Death in Vegas, the president of BenBugs, a company that specializes in beneficial bugs for organic gardening, discovers a young woman dead in his Las Vegas hotel suite. She had worked as a sexy lady bug at his convention booth—and he had nothing to do with her death. While that’s being investigated, the FBI raids his booth on a money-laundering scam that he knows nothing about, either. Soon, the coroner doesn’t have good news. The police and FBI are against him—and his wife cannot be found. He flees to find the answers.

View the Trailer:

Praise for Blood Drama by Christopher Meeks:

“What sets this novel apart from other thriller is the development of the characters.  Not only is Medina more complex than the stereotypical FBI agent found in many suspense novels, but Nash is a new type of victim.  His theater and academic background give him an interesting perspective.  This is definitely a suspenseful, can’t-put-it-down thriller.  Clear your calendar in order to have time to read this from start to finish!“-Tammy, The Self-Taught Cook

“Blood Drama was highly entertaining and extremely enjoyable. It is a combination black comedy and crime novel. The characters of Ian and Aleece are memorable, quirky, and unique. I  reveled in Ian’s quoting David Mamet (or some other playwright or work of literature) to deduce and interpret the information he had to ascertain where the clues were leading them.   Meeks is a gifted writer. He has a pleasing way of propelling the action forward while developing his plot and characters. I enjoyed Meeks Love at Absolute Zero quite a bit, but I liked Blood Drama even more. I’m hopeful that Meeks will bring back Ian and Aleece to solve another crime.”- Lori, She Treads Softly 

“This is one action packed thriller that you don’t want to put down. The author doesn’t waste time with the trivial, he gets right to the action and stays there. Just when you think things are as bad as they possible could get…wrong!
This was different from most thrillers I read in that it also has a little humor, I absolutely loved that aspect of the book.  The characters are well written, they seem like real people, flaws and all. There’s also romance in this book, which gives you a little relief from the gripping adventures.  I liked this book very much and so I will be checking to see what other books this author has written.
“- Vicky, I’d Rather Be At the Beach

“This story had me hooked just out of pity for the poor guy, but when things turned from bad to worse I couldn’t put it down. I had to know what was going to happen next. This was far from the typical suspense/thriller. Yes, it does follow the MOs you expect in some areas but the characters make it so unique.  I loved these characters. They were so unique that I could see them as real. They had their quirks and secrets that revealed their flaws and their vulnerabilities Nothing is really too farfetched. Yes, there is one character you might argue is but I live in a huge city. Trust me, it is not farfetched. Can’t say more or I let a big secret slip which is a no-no in reviews.  If you love suspense/thrillers that have some humor, you’ll love this book. Yes, it kept me riveted. You have to read this book. You’ll enjoy it and want more. Plus you’ll learn to appreciate your own days a little bit better.”– Rebecca Graf, A Book Lover’s Library

“Having read and reviewed every book and play written by the gifted Christopher Meeks it was with some trepidation to pick up a novel with a title BLOOD DRAMA packaged by a cover that suggested he’d joined the au courant genre of spy and murder and intrigue army of writers, forsaking his own quirky and deliciously entertaining usual topics of onstage interpersonal relationship scenarios of his previous books. Had he sold out to the bigger market of bestseller yet rapidly transient airport books? Happily, after getting attached to his satisfyingly rather strange hero in the first chapter and the fear that he had abandoned his signature warmth and tasteful dissection of ordinary people, the pages practically turned themselves.
Meeks has the gift to mold characters with such extensive backstories that after only a few pages as each new character is introduced they become part of the surround-sound family into whose story we have wandered.
The book is so rich in feisty humor, in theatrically enacted derring-do as the pursuit of the quartet of bank robbers ensues, some fine psychological insights into these strange but likeable folk from the Southern California setting Meeks knows and lives so well – well, so rich, period, that it begs to be read. Meeks may have daringly (for him) stepped into new territory, but the fact that he continues to remain in the rarefied atmosphere of fine contemporary authors is secure.”
 Grady Harp, Amazon Hall of Fame Reviewer

My Review:

I was so excited to hear that Christopher Meeks wrote another book!  I leaped at the chance to review it.  As a fan of his work, I am thankful that he is able to publish new works in a timely fashion!

Meeks is a prolific writer across genres of short stories, literary fiction, and more recently, crime mysteries.  This time he is back with his second crime mystery.  Is it as good as the first, ‘Blood Drama’?

It is no secret that I have not been a big fan of mystery books however, with ‘Blood Drama’, Christopher Meeks won me over.  With his writing, I discovered that mysteries can also be literary and with his brand of quirky characters and pop culture throughout all of his books, there is much to love!

In ‘A Death In Vegas’ the president of Ben Bugs, Patton Burch is in Las Vegas at a convention promoting beneficial bugs for organic gardening.  He has a young woman there dressed up as a lady bug.  Her name is Chatterley and is a model hired by Patton’s wife Tess.

How does Chatterley end up in Patton’s hotel room, butt naked and dead?  Who killed her?  Patton certainly didn’t.

With Christopher Meeks trademark tongue in cheek humor and quirky characters we find out the answers by following the on the run antics of Patton.

Just to say I enjoyed ‘A Death In Vegas’ is an understatement, I loved it!  I can’t recommend this book enough.  ‘A Death In Vegas’ would make an excellent gift to any mystery lover, male or female!  Christopher Meeks hit a home run again!

5/5

I received this in ebook form for my honest review.

About Christopher Meeks:Chris Headshot at USC

Christopher Meeks has four novels and two collections of short fiction published. His most recent novel before this was the acclaimed thriller, “Blood Drama.” His novel “The Brightest Moon of the Century” made the list of three book critics’ Ten Best Book of 2009. “Love at Absolute Zero” also made three Best Books lists of 2011, as well as earning a ForeWord Reviews Book of the Year Finalist award.

He has had stories published in several literary journals, and they have been included in the collections “Months and Seasons” and “The Middle-Aged Man and the Sea.” Mr. Meeks has had three full-length plays mounted in Los Angeles, and one, “Who Lives?” had been nominated for five Ovation Awards, Los Angeles’ top theatre prize.

Mr. Meeks teaches English and fiction writing at Santa Monica College, and Children’s Literature at the Art Center College of Design. To read more of his books visit his website at: www.chrismeeks.com.

Christopher at the Red Room: http://redroom.com/member/christopher-meeks
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/christopher.meeks1?fref=ts
Twitter https://twitter.com/MeeksChris

Buy ‘A Death In Vegas’:

Amazon
Barnes and Noble
Smashwords
Book Depository
Indie Bound

Thanks to Christopher Meeks, I am giving away one print or ebook copy of ‘A Death In Vegas’.  This giveaway is open internationally however, print is only available to the U.S. and Canada.  This giveaway ends on October 31, 2014.  Please use Rafflecopter to enter.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the Tour:

Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus Sept 29 Review & Giveaway
Pinky’s Favorite Reads Sept30 Excerpt
What U Talking Bout Willis? Oct 1 Review, Giveaway, & Guest Post
fundinmental Oct 2 Review & Giveaway
Manic Mama of 3 Oct 3 Review
Elizabeth McKenna Romance Author Oct 6 Excerpt
My Reading AddictionsOct 7 Review
Room With Books Oct 9  Interview & Excerpt
Bound 4 Escape Oct 10 Review
Lady in Read Oct 14 Review & Giveaway
She Treads Softly Oct 15 Review
Cuzinlogic Oct 16 Review
Sapphyria’s Steamy Books Oct 20 Excerpt
Genuine Jenn Oct 21 Review
The News in Books Oct 22 Review & Guest Post
Cassandra M’s Place Oct 23 Review & Giveaway
deal sharing aunt Oct 27 Review & Giveaway
I’m A Voracious Reader Oct 28 Review
The Discerning Reader Oct 30 Review

Giveaway: Twinkle by SJ Parkinson

Posted by Teddyrose@1 on September 26, 2014
Posted in Book ToursMy Past Giveaways  | Tagged With: , , | 8 Comments

TwinkleToday it is my pleasure to kick off the ‘Twinkle’ Tour!  Thanks to the award winning author, SJ Parkinson,  I am giving away one copy of ‘Twinkle’.  We are also giving away one copy of each of SJ Parkinson’s 5 published books to one lucky winner! Both giveaways are open internationally and the winners will have the choice of ebook or print.

Book Description:

Publisher: SJ Parkinson (July 14, 2014)
Category: Science Fiction, Thriller
Tour Date: October, 2014
Available in: Print & ebook, 600 Pages

In the newest book from award winning author, SJ Parkinson, The richest man in the world wants to celebrate the July 4th holiday as never before. In a bid to get into the record books, a global fireworks show is staged from orbit. Satellites drop pyrotechnics into the atmosphere, thrilling everyone from the Arctic to the Antarctic with their rich colors and massive explosions in every time zone.

The next day, people around the globe begin to lose their sight. Governments crumble, society degenerates, and infrastructure falls into chaos. Humanity finds itself stumbling in the dark and losing all hope.

A few fortunate individuals retain their vision. Attempting to deal with the growing despair around them, they come together to discover the true purpose and origin of the affliction. They race to find a cure before the world is subjugated under an invading power.

Watch the Trailer:

Praise for SJ Parkinson’s Predation:

“A mesmerizing streak through a galactic war that had me with the action at every step of the way. Proud soldiers and excellent aliens. Haven’t enjoyed tech sf so much in a long time and Predation is definitely on my recommended reading list.”LK Ststimelimg, Lynn and Library

As a lover of science fiction adventure, I give Predation 6 stars. A very well written book of war between two species with the conflict taking place both on planet and in space. The characters (both alien and human) are well developed so I found myself cheering for the humans and hoping the evil aliens would quickly “get theirs.” The combat is so vividly written that I was there in my mind and almost breathless on numerous occasions.

Those who like science fiction adventure are sure to like Predation. It is the best book of its type that I have read in many years. I have not had such pleasure in sf reading since Clark, Campbell, Bradbury and other masters of decades gone by.”-Thomas E. Bennett, Amazon Reviewer

” If you love Tom Clancy and Sci-Fi, you’ll love this.  Well written with excellent world building. The author clearly put a lot of research and thought into this story. Just the right mix of science, action, strategy and character development.”-Mark Heber, Amazon Reviewer

“Attention holding, plausible, futuristic conflict between humans and reptilian aliens. Well worth reading.

SJ Parkinson (one of the authors) was an Air Force avionics technician, was in the Gulf War and has other experiences which clearly add authentic perspectives. The book is well researched and written, on how the special ops as well as regular marine infantry go to battle against the “crocs” on land as well as in space above the atmosphere.

Characters on both sides, as well as the Drakk’Har politics and jockeying for position are well developed and keep the story interesting, even personal.

No typos, grammar or formatting problems that I noticed, the presentation of the Kindle version is good, and the story is excellent.”-Allan M., Amazon Reviewer

Stargate SG-1 Meets The Shooter. I’m a huge fan of good Sci-Fi, and I believe it’s a difficult genre to write well. Parkinson does a great job of it. I was hooked from the beginning. The story is focused to one main event, as opposed to some other novels where the story goes all over the place and the author gets lost trying to over explain their created world.

Here there are enough mentions of how life is, but not so much that it gets boring. I loved the tactical military details. They forced me to slow down and get into the groove of snipers and special ops, etc. I also loved how you get to read from the bad guys’ side as well. The raptor-like creatures were well developed and not so out-there that they were unbelievable. The battle strategies were well laid out, and it felt nice to kind of guess where the story was going without it being completely given away. There’s drama and action, and just an all-around great story. It would make a cool movie, or sci-fi series.”Maria Rasmussen “kittybaby13″, Amazon Reviewer

About SJ Parkinson:SJ Parkinson

Mr. Parkinson was an Air Force avionics technician, a decorated veteran of the Persian Gulf War, and several United Nations peacekeeping missions. He has lived overseas in numerous countries and travels extensively. His novels have been praised for their realism and sold in fourteen countries, winning multiple international awards.

Awards:

Three “Outstanding in Genre” Gold Seal awards from Red Adept Publishing and Kindle Book of the Month award Oct 2013 by the People’s Choice Book Awards.

Website: http://sjparkinson.com
Twitter: https://twitter.com/SJ_Parkinson
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/SJ-Parkinson/228716213898027
Google+:  https://plus.google.com/104993789048415208166/posts

Buy Twinkle:

Amazon

Both of the following giveaways end on November 22, 2014.  Please use Raffleopter to enter.
a Rafflecopter giveaway
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the Tour:

Teddy Rose Book Reviews Sept 26 Spotlight & Giveaway
The Wormhole Sept 29 Interview
Pinky’s Favorite Reads Oct. 1 Excerpt, Giveaway
Bound 4 Escape Oct 2 Review
Back Porchervations Oct3 Review and Interview
Cassandra M’s Place Oct. 6 Review & Giveaway
Deal Sharing Aunt Oct. 7 Review
Room With Books Oct 14 Interview & Excerpt
Books and Quilts Oct. 15 Review
Mindful Musings Oct 16 Review
What U Talking Bout Willis? Oct 16 Guest Post & Excerpt
The Librarian Fatale Oct. 17 Review                  
Giveaways & Glitter Oct 20 Review         
A Voracious Reader Oct. 21 Review
Housewife Blues and Chihuahua Oct. 22 Excerpt
Readers Muse Oct 23 Review
Mary’s Cup of Tea Oct. 24 Review
A Nook of Blankets and Books Oct. 27 Review              
JBronder Book Reviews Oct. 28 Review
Teddy Rose Book Reviews Oct 29 Book Review
She Treads Softly Oct. 30 Review
Create With Joy Oct. 31 Review
Books to Remember Nov 3 Review
Bookshelf Full of Sunshine Nov 3 Review (in German)
Let’s Talk About Books! Nov 4 Review
I Can Has Books? Nov 6 Review
fuonlyknew Nov 11 Review
Feminist Reflections Blog Nov 21 Review