;

Teddy Rose Book Reviews Plus More


Grammar Girl’s Quick and Dirty Tips by Mignon Fogarty

Posted by Teddyrose@1 on December 31, 2008
Posted in Books Read 2008GrammarMignon Fogarty  | 9 Comments

Grammar Can Be Fun, Who Knew?

This excellent book makes a wonderful reference book and is also fun to read cover to cover.

Do you ever wonder which you should use, E.G. or I.E.? I always thought they could be used interchangeably. Actually they can’t. I.E. stands for “that is” or “in other words” while E.G. means “for example”.

If you have any grammar questions but are afraid to ask, most likely you can find it in Grammar Girl’s Quick and Dirty Tips. You can also look for tips on Mignon’s website and she even has an open invitation for people to email her with questions.

I checked this book out from the library but I am going to purchase a copy to have on hand. This book is indispensable!

5/5

Also reviewed by:
Copyright 2007-2010: All the posts within this blog were originally posted by Teddy Rose and should not be reproduced without express written permission.

This Week’s Giveaways Galore

Posted by Teddyrose@1 on December 31, 2008
Posted in Giveaways Galore  | 7 Comments

As usual, be sure to check back at this post throught the week for links to more book giveaways!

I have a still have a book giveaway in progress for 3 books:

I have 3 different Brad Meltzer audiobooks up for grabs. The giveaway ends on January 4, 2009. Enter
here.

New offerings:

Sarah of PussReboots is giving away one copy of The Exchange by Inga C Ellzey. This giveaway ends on January 29, 2009. Enter here.

Alyce of At Home With Books is having a Eon: Dragoneye Reborn Giveaway. It’s an entire price package which includes: Eon: Dragoneye Reborn by Alison Goodman, Paper Towns by John Green, Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher, An Eon: Dragoneye Reborn poster, and An Eon: Dragoneye Reborn pin. This giveaway ends on January 12, 2009. Enter here.

Kaye of J. Kaye’s Book Blog is giving away one copy of ARIEL’S JOURNEY by Doug Kane and Christy Wood. This giveaway ends on January9, 2009. Enter here. Kaye is also giving away one copy of REQUIEM FOR THE AUTHOR OF FRANKENSTEIN by Molly Dwyer. This giveaway ends on January 9, 2009. Enter here.

Serena of Savvy Verse and Wit is giving away 6 copies of Gods Behaving Badly by Marie Phillips. One of the copies is open for international entries. The giveaway ends on January 5, 2009. Enter here.

Margaret of Literary Menagerie is giving away one copy of The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger. This giveaway ends on January 31, 2009. Enter here.

Anna of Diary of an Eccentric is giving away 5 copies of GODS BEHAVING BADLY by Marie Phillips. This giveaway ends on January 9th. Enter here.

Bobbie of Book Reviews By Bobbie is giving away one copy of The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory. This giveaway ends on January 16th. Enter here.

Debbie of Debbie’s World is givingaway one copy of The Book Thief by Mark Zusak. This giveaway ends on January 15th. Enter here.

Below are giveaways that I announced in previous weeks. There is still time to enter:

Becky of My Thoughts…Your Thoughts? is giving away one copy of The Missing by Tim Gautreaux. This giveaway ends on Friday January 2nd. Enter here.

Sarah of PussReboots is giving away one copy of Brother by James Fredericks. This giveaway ends on January 7th. Enter here. She is also giving away one copy of Written on the Knee by Theodore Electris. This giveaway ends on January 18th. Enter here.

Kaye of J. Kaye’s Book Blog is giving away two copies of COOL JEWELS: BEADING PROJECTS FOR TEENS by Naomi Fujimoto. The giveaway ends on Jasnuary 3rd. Enter here. Another book J. Kaye is giving away is LIKE GLASS by Matthew Cory. This giveaway ends on January 3rd. Enter here. She also has a copy ofBOOTS AND PIECES by Emily Ecton. This giveaway ends on January 3rd. Enter here. J. Kaye is also doing a movie giveaway for FLASHBACKS OF A FOOL. This giveaway ends on January 3rd. Enter here.

Anna of Diary of an Eccentric is giving away one copy of WITHOUT A BACKWARD GLANCE by Kate Veitch. The giveaway ends on Sunday January 4th. Enter here.

Alyce of At Home With Books is giving away the following books: Dark Pursuit by Brandilyn Collins, Queen of Oblivion book 3 of The Heartstone Trilogy by Giles Carwyn & Todd Fahnestock, Where am I Wearing by Kelsey Timmerman, and Dating da Vinci by Malena Lott. This giveaway ends on January 11th. Enter here.

Copyright 2007-2010: All the posts within this blog were originally posted by Teddy Rose and should not be reproduced without express written permission.

2008 Challenge Wrap-up

Posted by Teddyrose@1 on December 31, 2008
Posted in 2008 Challenge Wrap-up  | 7 Comments

Here is a re-cap of all the challenges I paticipated in for 2008:

Complete Challenges:
1. 2 New 2 You Challenge
2. The Canadian Book Challenge
3. Historical Fiction Reading Challenge
4. Elizabeth Gaskell Mini-Challenge 08
5. ARC Reading Challenge
6. 342,745 Ways To Herd Cats Challenge
7. I Heard It Through the Grapevine Challenge
8. A Well-Rounded Challenge
9. 2008 TBR Challenge
11. 2008 Mini Challenge

Challenges Still in Progress:
1. What An Animal Challenge (read 3/6 so far)
2. The 2nd Canadian Book Challenge (read4/13 so far)
3. Book Awards II Reading Challenge (read 6/10 so far)

Challenges I DNF:
1. On the Porch Swing (read 3/5)
2. The New Classics Challenge (read 2/6)
3. Presidential Reading Challenge (read 0/1)

Copyright 2007-2010: All the posts within this blog were originally posted by Teddy Rose and should not be reproduced without express written permission.